24.1 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Buy now

Indonesia, Visa on arrival announced for 23 countries

Thailand’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs has verified reports that Indonesia has launched special tourism visa services for foreign visitors from 23 countries to enter the archipelago nation.

The Department of Information under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs recently confirmed the news of the launch of the special visa application service for entering Indonesia. Tourists from 23 countries around the world, including Thailand, can enter Indonesia via a Special Tourism Visa on Arrival (VOA) arrangement. Foreigners can only obtain the VOA if they enter Indonesia at the immigration checkpoint of Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali. However, holders of this visa will be permitted to depart the country via other Indonesian airports.

The 23 countries include Australia, the United States, the Netherlands, Brunei, the Philippines, Britain, Italy, Japan, Germany, Cambodia, Canada, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, France, Qatar, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam.

Indonesian authorities require that international travellers present themselves at the immigration counter to apply for the VOA. They must have a passport that is valid for at least six months, a return ticket or a transit ticket to continue travelling to another country, and relevant documentation required by the COVID-19 task force. This includes RT-PCR test results, COVID vaccination certificates, and proof of accommodation/hotel payments.

Special visa holders will be allowed to stay in Indonesia for a maximum of 30 days. The visa can be extended once with an additional 30-day extension period.

A non-tax revenue (PNBP) tariff of IDR500,000 will apply.

“Stay Permits originating from VOA Special Tours are Visit Stay Permits (ITK), which are granted for a maximum period of 30 days and can be extended for a maximum of one time. The extension of the ITK is given for a period of 30 days and is carried out at the immigration office according to the area where the foreigner lives while in Indonesia. A Visit Stay Permit from Special Tourism VOA cannot be transferred,” said Achmad Nur Saleh, Sub-Coordinator of Public Relations of the Directorate General of Immigration.

How it is different from the existing Tourist Visit Visa?

While the ITK for foreign tourists holding the VOA is valid for 30 days and can be extended once, the Tourist Visit Visa can be granted for a period of stay of 60 days. This Tourist Visit Visa can be extended to an ITK up to four times, and in other words, allows stay in Indonesia for up to 180 days.

Additionally, an ITK originating from a VOA cannot be transferred, while the ITK from a Tourist Visit Visa can be converted into a Limited Stay Permit (ITAS).

Tourists can apply for a VOA without the need for a guarantor/sponsor.

While tourists on VOA only need to present the documentation stated above, those on a Tourist Visit Visa must prepare more documentation, including an application letter and guarantee, proof of ownership of funds (savings) worth USD2,000, colour photo, and health insurance/travel insurance.

Achmad also shared that travellers on the Tourist Visit Visa must also include a statement that they are willing to comply with Indonesia’s health protocols, along with proof of payment for travel/hotel services. The guarantor appointed must be a travel agency or hotel located in Indonesia.

For more information, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises people to visit the ministry’s official website at www.mfa.go.th or call 02-203-5000.


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles