25.1 C
Friday, May 24, 2024

Buy now

MRTA Signs Contracts to Extend Purple Line Services

Six contracts for the extension of the Purple Line electric rail services have been signed between the Mass Rapid Transit Authority (MRTA) and five other companies.

MRTA Governor Pakapong Sirikantaramas signed six contracts of integrity on Friday (11 Mar) with representatives from Ch Karnchang, Sino-Thai Engineering, Italian-Thai Development, Nawarat Patanakarn and Unique Engineering for the design and construction of the Purple Line Railway extension. The MRTA assured that the process of selecting and signing the contracts was carried out in accordance with government regulations and the law in order to ensure transparency.

The 82 billion baht contract will cover civil works both underground and above ground along the 23.6-km route from Tao Pun to Rat Burana district in Bangkok. The Purple Line extension will have 17 stations in total, 10 of them underground, and will connect other railway lines at some of its stations to provide accessibility to commuters. 

The Project alignment begins at the interchange station with the MRT Chalong Ratchadham Line Project at elevated Tao Pun Station and sloped downward beneath Khlong Bang Sue where the line dives underground along Thahan Road until Kiak Kai Intersection, turns left to Samsen Road, passing New Parliament (Yothinburana School, previoused), Rajinibon School, Royal Irrigation Department, Vajira Hospital and National Library. The alignment passes under Khlong Bang Lamphu, turns left along Phra Sumen Road, passes Wat Bowonniwet Vihara, Ratchadamnoen Klang Road and Phan Fa Lilat Square. After that, the alignment goes along Maha Chai Road, passing Wat Rat Natda Ram Worawihan, and goes straight to Chakkaraphet Road. It then passes under Chao Phraya River at Somdet Phra Pok Klao Bridge to Prajadhipok Road, passing Ban Khaek Intersection, passes under Wong Wian Yai to Somdet Phra Chao Tak Sin Road, passing Somdech Phra Pinklao Hospital and passes under Mahai Sawan Intersection. Then, transforms to elevated alignment and goes along Suksawat Road. It passes Dao Khanong Junction, passes over Rama II Interchange, passes Pracha Uthit Junction, passes over Chalerm Mahanakorn Expressway and Bhumibol 1 Bridge. It then passes Phra Pradaeng Junction and the end of the train route at Khru Nai Station

The MRT Chalong Ratchadham line (Thai: รถไฟฟ้ามหานคร สายฉลองรัชธรรม) or MRT Purple line (Thai: รถไฟฟ้ามหานคร สายสีม่วง) is Bangkok’s fifth rapid transit line, following the Sukhumvit Line, Silom Line, MRT Blue Line, and Airport Rail Link. Daily ridership is 70,000. The line was opened on 6 August 2016 and is the second line of MRT system operated by BEM.

The current line is 23 km long, serving north-western part of Bangkok and Nonthaburi Province.

Construction is expected to begin this year and be completed in 2027.

Editorial Staff
Editorial Staffhttps://locality.guide
Provider of news and content to Heaven is Hua Hin

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles